Finding a Credible VCA Breeder

Vizsla Catching Snowball
Credit: Marc Piscotty

The Vizsla Club of America provides the Breeder Referral List as a public service. The members listed below have volunteered to provide information about the breed, including the names of respected breeders who pledge adherence to the VCA Code of Ethics. The Breeder Referral List is not a VCA endorsement of any individual, breeding program, or entity the member may represent. Any views expressed by the volunteers named on the Breeder Referral List are their own and do not necessarily reflect the views of the VCA. If you have questions about this disclaimer, please send an email to Florence Duggan at vcabreedinfo@gmail.com.

The following is a list of members who have agreed to talk with people who are new to the breed. If you have any questions, whether to find out if the breed is right for you or just to find some training tips for your energetic Vizsla, please feel free to contact an experienced owner from the list.

VCA Regional Club Breed Information and Referral Contacts

StateClub NameClub ContactContact's e-MailClub Website
ArizonaRio Salado Vizsla Club Marla Molvincontact@rsvc.netwww.rsvc.net
CaliforniaLone Cypress Vizsla Club of the Monterey Peninsula Penny Jonessylvanoaks@sbcglobal.net
CaliforniaSouth Coast Vizsla Club Jim McClintockjim.sancola@gmail.comwww.scvizsla.com
CaliforniaVizsla Club of Southern CaliforniaDarlene Anthonywdnklviz@aol.com
CaliforniaVizsla Club of Northern California Jeff Funkjeffefunk@gmail.comwww.vcnc.net
ColoradoVizsla Club of ColoradoTad Waldenwaldent@earthlink.netwww.vizslaclubofcolorado.org
ColoradoRocky Mountain Vizsla ClubErica Sparroweksparrow@gmail.comwww.rmvcvizsla.com
ConnecticutConnecticut Valley Vizsla ClubSusan Maruccipamperedchic@gmail.comwww.ctvalleyvizslaclub.org
DelawareConestoga Vizsla ClubYovonne Baggott-Jonesvizslaangel@gmail.comwww.cvcweb.org
FloridaTampa Bay Vizsla ClubDanny Negerdneg5@aol.comwww.tampabayvizslaclub.com
GeorgiaVizsla Club of Metro AtlantaTania Campbelltaniacampbell@att.netwww.atlantavizsla.org
IllinoisVizsla Club of IllinoisEd McHalemchale2080@att.netwww.vizslaclubofillinois.org
IowaHawkeye Vizsla ClubMike Helleriowavizslaguy@gmail.com
IowaVizsla Club of Eastern IowaDarcy Brunsddbruns91@gmail.com
KansasShow Me Vizsla Club (MO/KS)Lin Kozlowskieveredi@interlinc.net

Meeting Information
www.showmevizsla.com
LouisianaSouth Louisiana Vizsla ClubAshley Uffmanashleyuffman@gmail.comwww.slvclub.com
MassachusettsVizsla Club of Central New EnglandDaniel Zilka correspondingsecretary@vccne.netwww.vccne.net
MarylandConestoga Vizsla ClubYovonne Baggott-Jonesvizslaangel@gmail.comwww.cvcweb.org
MichiganViszla Club of MichiganKeleigh Masserantthemasserants@hotmail.comhttp://vizslaclubofmichigan.org
MinnesotaTwin Cities Vizsla ClubJill Hoffbeckjill@shootingstardogs.comwww.tcvc.org
MissouriGateway Vizsla ClubDebbie Bakerjazzberryvizslafun@gmail.comwww.gatewayvizslaclub.com
MissouriShow Me Vizsla Club (MO/KS)Lin Kozlowskieveredi@interlinc.net
NebraskaNebraska Vizsla ClubBrandi Hatchbhat208@gmail.com
New HampshireVizsla Club of Central New EnglandDaniel Zilka correspondingsecretary@vccne.netwww.vccne.net
New YorkVizsla Club of Greater New YorkFlorence Dugganflopete4@aol.comwww.thevcgny.com
North CarolinaVizsla Club of the CarolinasJane Robbinsreddogsrule8@gmail.comwww.carolinavizsla.org
OhioMiami Valley Vizsla ClubPam Williamsgoosielu@gmail.comwww.mvvc.org
OhioVizsla Club of Greater ClevelandMargaret Schaefereschaefe@columbus.rr.com
OregonTrail's End Vizsla Club of OregonLaurel Zepplzepp@ykwc.netwww.tevco.org
PennsylvaniaKeystone Vizsla Club of PennsylvaniaAllyson Lorentisecretary@keystonevizslaclub.orgwww.keystonevizslaclub.org
South CarolinaVizsla Club of the CarolinasKatie Titus Odumkrtitus88@gmail.comwww.carolinavizsla.org
TennesseeVolunteer Vizsla Club of Tennessee Debbie Sullivanregalpointvizslas@yahoo.com
TexasTexas Gulf Coast Vizsla ClubMelinda GilesTGCVizslaClub@gmail.comwww.tgcvizslaclub.com
TexasTrinity Valley Vizsla ClubLinda Lantzlantzrl@verizon.netwww.trinityvvc.com
UtahVizsla Club of UtahBonita Austinbonitaaustin@yahoo.com
VermontVizsla Club of Central New EnglandDaniel Zilka correspondingsecretary@vccne.netwww.vccne.net
VirginiaConestoga Vizsla ClubYovonne Baggott-Jonesvizslaangel@gmail.comwww.cvcweb.org
VirginiaOld Dominion Vizsla ClubGrace Anne Lawsongrace.anne.lawson@gmail.comwww.odvc.org
WashingtonPuget Sound Vizsla ClubJanine Martyriversidevizslas@gmail.comwww.pugetsoundvizsla.net
WisconsinCentral Wisconsin Vizsla ClubT. Jone Brownautumnacresvizslas@gmail.comwww.cwvc.org
WisconsinVizsla Club of Greater Milwaukee Craig Donzecdonze@wi.rr.comwww.vcgm.org

Regional Vizsla Clubs by State

Regional Vizsla Clubs Map

Responsible Vizsla breeders will do the following:

  1. Adhere to the Vizsla Club of America (VCA) Code of Ethics.
  2. Test and ensure Vizsla breeding stock is cleared of hip dysplasia after two years of age before mating and received an OFA Certificate (with numbers) from the Orthopedic Foundation of Animals (OFA).
  3. Follow the breed-specific recommendations for health testing by the Canine Health Information Center (CHIC) for Vizslas. CHIC Certifications (with numbers) are issued to Vizslas tested for hip dysplasia (OFA), thyroid function, and eye health (CERF). Optional testing includes sebaceous adenitis, von Willebrand disease, congenital cardiac disease, and elbow dysplasia. These health records may also be found on the OFA website. Many breeders will also use the PennHIP evaluation to test for hip dysplasia. PennHIP results are included on the OFA website for each dog who has been tested.
  4. Strive to breed according to the AKC Breed Standard for the Vizsla, which was drafted and approved by the Vizsla Club of America.
  5. Know the pedigrees of their own dogs well and share them with prospective buyers along with the health and temperament records of each dog going back five generations.
  6. Search pedigrees to explain why a particular breeding can improve upon the dam’s and sire’s characteristics.
  7. Introduce prospective buyers to their new Vizsla family, and show them where a litter is being whelped and raised.
  8. Provide a written agreement for review prior to a sale.
  9. Provide AKC registration papers, a signed written agreement, and a veterinary health certificate upon a sale.
  10. Provide support to puppy buyers for the life of the dog.
Vizsla on Check Cord Standing
Credit: Marc Piscotty