Finding a Credible VCA Breeder

Vizsla Catching Snowball
Credit: Marc Piscotty

The Vizsla Club of America provides the Breeder Referral List as a public service. The members listed below have volunteered to provide information about the breed, including the names of respected breeders who pledge adherence to the VCA Code of Ethics. The Breeder Referral List is not a VCA endorsement of any individual, breeding program, or entity the member may represent. Any views expressed by the volunteers named on the Breeder Referral List are their own and do not necessarily reflect the views of the VCA. If you have questions about this disclaimer, please send an email to askthevcaboard@gmail.com.

The following is a list of members who have agreed to talk with people who are new to the breed. If you have any questions, whether to find out if the breed is right for you or just to find some training tips for your energetic Vizsla, please feel free to contact an experienced owner from the list.

VCA Regional Club Breed Information and Referral Contacts

StateRegional ClubContactsEmail or website
ArizonaRio Salado Vizsla ClubMarla Molvincontact@rsvc.net
CaliforniaLone Cypress Vizsla Club of the Monterey PeninsulaNancy Guarascionguarasc@comcast.net
CaliforniaSouth Coast Vizsla ClubCarol Kellercarol.r.keller@att.net
CaliforniaVizsla Club of Southern CaliforniaDarlene Anthonywdnklviz@aol.com
CaliforniaVizsla Club of Northern CaliforniaNancy Colwellbreededu@vcnc.net
ColoradoVizsla Club of ColoradoTad Waldenwww.vizslaclubcolorado.org
ColoradoRocky Mountain Vizsla ClubJudy Hetkowskijudy@bouldervizslas.com
ConnecticutConnecticut Valley Vizsla ClubLinda Morrisbreederreferral@ctvalleyvizslaclub.org
DelawareConestoga Vizsla ClubYovonne Baggott-Jonesvizslaangel@gmail.com
FloridaTampa Bay Vizsla ClubJosephine Datis-Gonzalezjodatis@gmail.com
GeorgiaVizsla Club of Metro AtlantaDan Bowendanbowen25@gmail.com
IllinoisVizsla Club of Illinoissee websitewww.vizslaclubofillinois.org
KansasShow Me Vizsla Club (MO/KS)Lin Kozlowskieveredi@interlinc.net
LouisianaSouth Louisiana Vizsla ClubDebbie Sullivanregalpointvizslas@yahoo.com
MassachusettsVizsla Club of Central New EnglandTristan Boscardintristan@kingscrook.com
MaineVizsla Club of Central New EnglandTristan Boscardintristan@kingscrook.com
MarylandConestoga Vizsla ClubYovonne Baggott-Jonesvizslaangel@gmail.com
MichiganVizsla Club of MichiganJen Millerstardustvizslas@gmail.com
MinnesotaTwin Cities Vizsla Clubsee websitetcvizslaclub@gmail.com
MissouriGateway Vizsla Clubsee websitewww.gatewayvizslaclub.com
MissouriShow Me Vizsla Club (MO/KS)Lin Kozlowskieveredi@interlinc.net
NebraskaNebraska Vizsla Clubdwdegner@cox.net
New HampshireVizsla Club of Central New EnglandTristan Boscardintristan@kingscrook.com
New YorkVizsla Club of Greater New YorkMarie Warniahabayflounce@yahoo.com
North CarolinaVizsla Club of the CarolinasKatie Titusphilpottkatherine@gmail.com
OhioMiami Valley Vizsla ClubPam Williamsgoosielu@gmail.com
OhioVizsla Club of Greater ClevelandMargaret Schaefereschaefe@columbus.rr.com
OregonTrail's End Vizsla Club of OregonJanine Martyriversidevizslas@gmail.com
PennsylvaniaKeystone Vizsla Club of PennsylvaniaDiane Shearerlegacyvizslas@gmail.com
South CarolinaVizsla Club of the CarolinasKaren BeckwithKarenbff18@yahoo.com
TexasTexas Gulf Coast Vizsla ClubDebbie Sullivanregalpointvizslas@yahoo.com
TexasTrinity Valley Vizsla ClubJan SimerWNS44@aol.com
UtahVizsla Club of UtahBonita Austinbonitaaustin@yahoo.com
VermontVizsla Club of Central New EnglandTristan Boscardintristan@kingscrook.com
VirginiaConestoga Vizsla ClubYovonne Baggott-Jonesvizslaangel@gmail.com
VirginiaOld Dominion Vizsla ClubGrace Anne Lawsongrace.anne.lawson@gmail.com
WashingtonPuget Sound Vizsla ClubJanine Martybreederreferral@pugetsoundvizsla.net
WisconsinCentral Wisconsin Vizsla ClubBecky Smithremark@centurytel.net
WisconsinVizsla Club of Greater MilwaukeeCraig Donzecdonze@wi.rr.com

Regional Vizsla Clubs by State

Regional Vizsla Clubs Map

Responsible Vizsla breeders will do the following:

  1. Adhere to the Vizsla Club of America (VCA) Code of Ethics.
  2. Test and ensure Vizsla breeding stock is cleared of hip dysplasia after two years of age before mating and received an OFA Certificate (with numbers) from the Orthopedic Foundation of Animals (OFA).
  3. Follow the breed-specific recommendations for health testing by the Canine Health Information Center (CHIC) for Vizslas. CHIC Certifications (with numbers) are issued to Vizslas tested for hip dysplasia (OFA), thyroid function, and eye health (CERF). Optional testing includes sebaceous adenitis, von Willebrand disease, congenital cardiac disease, and elbow dysplasia. These health records may also be found on the OFA website. Many breeders will also use the PennHIP evaluation to test for hip dysplasia. PennHIP results are included on the OFA website for each dog who has been tested.
  4. Strive to breed according to the AKC Breed Standard for the Vizsla, which was drafted and approved by the Vizsla Club of America.
  5. Know the pedigrees of their own dogs well and share them with prospective buyers along with the health and temperament records of each dog going back five generations.
  6. Search pedigrees to explain why a particular breeding can improve upon the dam’s and sire’s characteristics.
  7. Introduce prospective buyers to their new Vizsla family, and show them where a litter is being whelped and raised.
  8. Provide a written agreement for review prior to a sale.
  9. Provide AKC registration papers, a signed written agreement, and a veterinary health certificate upon a sale.
  10. Provide support to puppy buyers for the life of the dog.
Vizsla on Check Cord Standing
Credit: Marc Piscotty